RSS

Loosening the tent pegs

18 Jun

One of the challenges of camping is knowing how deep to drive your tent pegs into the ground. If they are too shallow, your tent can be blown down during a wind storm. If the pegs are too deep, you can wrench your back trying to pull them out of the ground when it comes time to break camp and move on.

I imagine Israel faced this dilemma quite often during their forty years of wandering in the wilderness. When they made camp for the night, they expected to stay there for a while. And yet, when the pillar of cloud/fire moved, they needed to break camp quickly and start down the road to the next camp site.

While God has not yet given us our marching orders or spelled out the location of our next camp site, he has certainly been loosening our tent pegs over the past four months. He removed my professional tent pegs when he surgically removed me from my previous church back in February. He yanked out those pegs in one quick, decisive motion.

God loosened our geographical tent pegs when he led us to put our house on the market in April. He further loosened those pegs when the three churches I applied to in Washington State all said, “Thanks, but no thanks.” It became evident God was leading us out of the Puget Sound region. He loosened our tent pegs even further when he provided a buyer for our home. Yesterday, we accepted their offer and signed the papers to sell our house. While our tent pegs are still in the ground, they are held in place quite tenuously. In a few short weeks, they will be removed completely.

In the meantime, we wait for God’s clear direction when to move and where to go. Since he led us to this spot, we are confident he will lead us to the next location.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Home, Personal growth

 

One response to “Loosening the tent pegs

  1. Mrs. Whitney

    June 23, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    I’m from Frist Central Baptist Church I’m Chicopee Mass. I saw your information on our church website so I thought I’d visit your page. The tent peg analogy is Really provocative. My family and I are going through some similar transitions in our lives this year so I can really relate. I look forward to hearing you preach next month a FCBC.

    God bless you and your family,
    H. Whitney

     

Leave a Reply

 
