RSS

Watch out for scams

02 Oct

This afternoon I received a robo call on my cell phone. The recording said my B of A debit card had been locked and that I was to press “1” to be transferred to the department that could help me resolve the problem. It sounded too much like a scam, so I hung up. I then called B of A directly and talked to a real person. Sure enough, it was a scam, and one that the bank has received a number of calls about. I’m not sure how they got my cell number or knew which bank I was with, but it was cause for caution and a healthy skepticism.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2014 in Culture, News stories

 

2 responses to “Watch out for scams

  1. Christopher Perdue (thebiblestop)

    October 2, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    They probably did not know what bank you use. They usually just pick a big bank and use cell phone numbers they have obtained to send the message. Some of those people will use whichever bank they are claiming.

    I had one try to scam me using on online payment site similar to paypal. I had never even heard of the company, before.

     
    • wheelsms

      October 2, 2014 at 8:14 pm

      You’re probably right, but it was unnerving nonetheless.

      Mark Wheeler

      “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” Jim Elliot

       

Leave a Reply

 
