RSS

How can I know for sure if I’m going to heaven?

27 Oct

When you ask the average person, “If you died tonight, do you know for certain if you’d go to heaven?” their response if often like this comic.

Non Sequitur - uncertainty of the afterlife

Scripture, however, explains that we can know for certain.

Romans 6:23 points out that I have a problem. I am a sinner in need of a savior.

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

The bad news is that because I am a sinner by nature and by choice, I deserve to be punished. Like receiving a paycheck at the end of the month for my work on the job, death is the just wages for my sin.

The good news is that eternal life is available through Jesus Christ. Even better news is that heaven is a free gift. It’s not earned or deserved.

Romans 10:9-10 goes on to explain how I can receive this free gift.

“…because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved.”

  • If
    • I believe the good news that Jesus died on the cross for my sins and that he rose from the dead on the third day
    • I confess Jesus is Lord by asking him to forgive my sins
  • Then
    • I can know for certain that heaven awaits me when I die
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 27, 2014 in Culture, Evangelism, Fun, Heaven, Scripture, Theology

 

Leave a Reply

 
