RSS

Of Epitaphs & Eulogies

20 Apr

I have attended three funerals and one wake over the past 12 days. Having led three of the four events, I’ve had a unique vantage point to observe what took place. I’ve heard numerous stories in the key of F—family, fishing, friendship, football (Dallas Cowboys variety—How ‘bout those Cowboys!), food, fun, and frivolity. One funeral even included the wave.

By the end of the fourth one, I started wondering what people would say at my funeral. All of my ponderings and musings revolved around two questions, “Did people know that I love Jesus?” and “Did I make a difference?”

  • Did people know that I love God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength?
  • Did I love other people?
  • Did I point people to Jesus?
  • Did I encourage people to trust God more?
  • Did I strengthen marriages and families?
  • Did I help people to stand for what they believed?
  • Did I equip people to walk with God?
  • Did I infect people with a passion for missions?
  • Did I help people know how to study the Scriptures on their own?
  • Did I challenge people to serve and share their faith?
  • Did I encourage folks to live with a sense of intentionality?
  • Did I nudge people out of their comfort zones in order to trust God more?
  • Did I equip people to serve?
  • Did I leave people with a greater passion for Jesus?
  • Did I encourage people to find their strength in God?
  • Did I push people to take greater risks in serving God?
  • Did I comfort those who were hurting?
  • Did I leave behind more leaders than I inherited?
  • Did I mentor and train young leaders?
  • Did I irritate, in a good way, those who were too comfortable?
  • Did I encourage people to be more generous and giving?
  • Did I leave people with a greater love for the church?
  • Did I whet people’s appetite and make them thirstier for God?
  • Did folks have a greater hunger and thirst for righteousness?
  • Did I cause people to love God more?
  • Did I leave a legacy greater than the heritage I received?

Whatever I want said at my funeral, whatever legacy I want to leave behind, I need to get busy and make sure I am living that way right now.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2015 in Funerals, Passion, Personal growth

 

Leave a Reply

 
