RSS

Don’t grasp your stuff too tightly

13 Jul

Last week, I was reminded that I need to hold my possessions loosely. A faulty ductless-split AC unit leaked for some time over one section of the bookcases in my office. Fortunately, or not, my books were there to soak up the water. 😦 The segment contained half of my New Testament commentaries, including a couple signed by Kent Hughes, one of my mentors. We lined them up around the room trying to dry them out. 38 volumes survived while 78 were too waterlogged to save.

IMG_2461 IMG_2462 IMG_2464

On the one hand, books are my life and my tools. On the other hand, it’s just stuff that can be replaced.

Philippians 4:11–13   “… for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 13, 2015 in Books, Personal growth, Scripture

 

Leave a Reply

 
