RSS

Prescription for a chuckle-filled afternoon

10 Aug

Diary of a jackwagonIf laughter is the best medicine, then reading Diary of a Jackwagon by Tim Hawkins with John Driver will set you on the road to good health. For those unfamiliar with the author, Tim is a Christian comedian you can find in concert or on YouTube. I was initially introduced to Tim through his YouTube video on “official worship signals” where he compared hand raising to NFL hand signals.

Diary of a Jackwagon contains much of the material Tim Hawkins performs in his concerts. He riffs on everything from marital communication to church music to fatherhood to yoga pants to song parodies and homeschooling. You get a sense of his style and philosophy when he explains,

One of my main reasons for writing this journal is to keep a record of what inspires me. I hear so many questions out there traveling on the road, but the most frequent is, “Tim, where do you come up with your comedy?”

Honestly, I don’t know. Inspiration comes in so many forms. Movies. Music. Family. Food. Comedy is a commentary on what everyone sees, but with a perspective most everyone does not see. It is an art form, similar to a magic trick. Some might even call it a gift. Comedians look at the same things normal people look at, and then point out the ridiculous part hidden in plain sight. It’s like I always say—comedy is a dish best served with a dash of absurdity and a pinch of stupidity. I don’t like to brag, but I am the Iron Chef of stupid.

The only down side of the book, if there is one, is in reading the words on the page and imagining them in the voice of the author. Having watched some of Tim’s videos, the book falls short. Not because it is not humorous and amusing, but simply because part of comedy is in the delivery. The book is entertaining, but not the same as hearing the material live. But it is well worth the read, and I found myself chuckling at many of his comments and characterizations.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 10, 2015 in Books, Fun, Quotes, Videos

 

Leave a Reply

 
