RSS

A month of anniversaries

01 Sep

September is a month of anniversaries for me, at least from a ministry perspective.

  • September 1986 – I began my first full-time ministry position as Pastor of Christian Education at College Church in Wheaton, Illinois.
  • September 2004 – I began my first senior pastor assignment at United Evangelical Free Church in Seattle, WA.
  • September 1, 2012 – I began my current assignment as Senior Pastor at First Central Baptist Church in Chicopee, MA.

I have now served 29 years in full-time ministry. I spent 18 years as an associate pastor for two churches–College Church in Wheaton (1986-1989) and Crossroads Bible Church in Bellevue, WA (1990-2004). I spent the past 11 years as a senior pastor for two churches–United EFC (2004-2012) and FCBC (2012-present),

I am grateful God called me to be part of his family. I am grateful God called me into ministry. I am grateful God brought each of these churches into my life at the appropriate season of my life. I am grateful God called me to serve at First Central in this season of my life.

 

6 responses to “A month of anniversaries

  1. amngilbert

    September 1, 2015 at 8:39 am

    We at FCBC are grateful for both you and Carol’s service to the Lord and his people. Thank you.

     
    • wheelsms

      September 1, 2015 at 11:41 am

      Thanks, Jack. I appreciate your friendship and encouragement.

      Mark Wheeler

      “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” Jim Elliot

       
  2. Mark Grotte

    September 1, 2015 at 11:31 am

    I am greateful for your following God’s call to ministry, and the impact you’ve had on our lives.

     
    • wheelsms

      September 1, 2015 at 11:40 am

      Thanks, Mark. You & Tracy are still on my prayer list. I appreciate your friendship and encouragement.

      Mark Wheeler

      “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” Jim Elliot

       
  3. Jack Fender

    September 1, 2015 at 3:45 pm

    Three years in Chikopee! It seems like you only headed East a few months ago. Congratulations on your anniversary there plus your other significant events in September. I’m sure you are a blessing to the people there like the blessing you have been to me. Here’s to many more. Jack 1 Cor 15:58

     
    • wheelsms

      September 1, 2015 at 3:47 pm

      Thanks, Jack. The time has gone by quickly. This is a good place to serve, though I miss our breakfasts together. Stay faithful.

      Mark Wheeler

      “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” Jim Elliot

       

Leave a Reply

 
