RSS

Marriage is a steel trap

23 Dec

“Marriage will bring you more heartbreak than any other relationship you’ll experience,” he continued. “But it will also bring you more joy. It is the hardest but also the most fulfilling human relationship you will ever have.”

Of all the advice given to me before I was married, this ranks among the best. It prepared me for the times that marriage has been difficult. There’s a cost in committing oneself to another sinner for better and for worse, and the more we’re prepared for that cost, the better off we’ll be. I’m glad that I was warned to expect hard times in marriage, because they’ve come. It’s easy to recite part of the marriage vows (for better, for richer, in health) and think the latter half (for worse, for poorer, in sickness) won’t apply.

But I’m glad that I was told that marriage would bring me so much joy. This relationship that has exposed so much of my sinfulness, that has sometimes left me frustrated and both of us in tears, has also been the relationship that has brought me more joy than I could ever imagine or deserve.

These are part of the insightful words written by pastor and author Darryl Dash in an article entitled, “The Cost and Beauty of Marriage.” I need the encouragement on a day when I learned of another couple going the way of divorce.

Marriage is not easy. Marriage is challenging. But it is well worth the time, energy, money, sacrifice, apologies, communication, humility … needed to make it work.

I am grateful my bride and I will celebrate our 35th anniversary in four days.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2015 in Marriage, Quotes

 

3 responses to “Marriage is a steel trap

  1. Marie

    December 23, 2015 at 10:32 am

    Happy anniversary to you and Carol.
    My husband and I made 34years before the Lord took him home.
    God bless you both
    Marie

     
    • wheelsms

      December 23, 2015 at 10:33 am

      Thank you.

      Mark Wheeler
      “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.” Jim Elliot

       
  2. christinemason2@verizon.net

    December 23, 2015 at 10:44 am

    Happy Anniversary (

     

Leave a Reply

 
