RSS

Gaining evaluated experience

29 Dec

In order to grow and develop your skills, one needs not just experience, but evaluated experience. That is one of the many lessons I learned from “Prof.”, Dr. Howard Hendricks. As I work with and mentor pastoral interns at First Central Baptist Church in Chicopee, MA, I try to build those kind of experiences into their training.

Whenever one of our interns preaches, I ask several people in the congregation to fill out an evaluation form on their sermon and delivery. I then compile the forms and go over the results and comments with the individual. The goal is to help them build on their strengths and improve their weak areas. Below is the form that I use. Click on the link to download a pdf version of the template.

Sermon Feedback Form

 

Preacher: ___________________   Scripture ___________________ Date ___________

 

Introduction Low   High
_________________________ got my attention 1 2 3 4 5
_________________________ touched a felt need in my life 1 2 3 4 5
_________________________ introduced the text or topic of the sermon 1 2 3 4 5
Exposition          
_________________________ exposed and explained the text clearly 1 2 3 4 5
_________________________’s message had a main idea that was faithful to the message and relevant to my life 1 2 3 4 5
Summarize what you sensed was the main idea of the message:

 

 

_________________________ engaged my mind and heart through the message 1 2 3 4 5
_________________________ helped me apply biblical truth to my life experience 1 2 3 4 5
Communication          
_________________________ came across as sincere and genuine 1 2 3 4 5
_________________________ looked me in the eye and appeared comfortable 1 2 3 4 5
Summary          
Two strengths of the message:

1.

 

2.

 

One area to develop for further growth:

 

 

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
