RSS

Don’t trust your brain

25 Jan

In making decisions, we are often counseled not to trust our emotions. Instead, we are told to be rational. However, we also need to be careful in following the advice our brains give us. The book Game Over is the fascinating conclusion of Andrew Klavan’s MindWar Trilogy. In a dialog between the main character, Rick Dial, and his mother, his mother warns him about trusting his brain alone.

“I’m scared, Mom,” he said

She nodded.

“I’m scared something’s wrong with me. Because of the Realm. The Breach. I’m scared something’s wrong with my brain. I mean, I’m not afraid of Kurodar. I’m not afraid of his monster or his men. Or that is, I am afraid, sure I am, but it doesn’t bother me. You know? When it comes down to it, I’ll fight them. I’ll fight anybody.”

His mom nodded. “I know you will.”

“But when you can’t trust your own brain …”

For the first time tonight, his mother’s eye widened a little in alarm. “No, don’t do that. Don’t trust your own brain, Rick.”

“What do you mean? Why not?”

“Because. Because your brain can steer you wrong, that’s why. If you want to do the stupidest, ugliest, meanest thing in the world, your brain’ll come up with excuses for you to do it. You know it will. It happens to everyone. Everyone who ever cheated on a test or hurt a friend or stuck a needle in his arm or go behind the wheel or a car when he was drunk–they all thought they had perfectly good reasons to do it. Their brains told them so. You can never trust your brain.”

Her words surprised him at first, but when he thought about it, he knew she was right. He could think of half a dozen times off the top of his head when he had done something really, really stupid and his brain had said to him, Great idea, Champ! You ride that skateboard down the steepest hill in town two days before training begins! Sure thing. What could go wrong?

Rick’s mom was expressing the truth revealed in Romans 1:18, “For the wrath of God is revealed form heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth.”

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2016 in Books, Quotes, Scripture

 

Leave a Reply

 
