RSS

Embracing Change, Part 2

05 Feb

A few days ago, I stood on my soapbox and ranted about the phrase, “I hate change!” and why I believe we should embrace change. While I am still bothered by the statement, I also feel a sense of sadness for what we lose when we take that position.

When we resist change, we miss out on new ways to praise and worship God. The Old Testament is filled with the instruction, “Sing to the Lord a new song” (Psalm 33:3; 96:1; 98:1; 144:9; 149:1; Isaiah 42:10).

When we resist change, we miss out on all the new things God is doing. On this topic, I think it is sufficient to let Scripture speak for itself.

Psalm 40:3 – He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.

Isaiah 43:18–19 – “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

Isaiah 57:10 – You were wearied with the length of your way, but you did not say, “It is hopeless”; you found new life for your strength, and so you were not faint.

Isaiah 62:2 – The nations shall see your righteousness, and all the kings your glory, and you shall be called by a new name that the mouth of the Lord will give.

Isaiah 65:17 – “For behold, I create new heavens and a new earth, and the former things shall not be remembered or come into mind.

Jeremiah 31:31 – “Behold, the days are coming, declares the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and the house of Judah,

Lamentations 3:22–23 – The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

Ezekiel 36:26 – And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.

2 Corinthians 5:17 – Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

2 Peter 3:13 – But according to his promise we are waiting for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.

Revelation 2:17 – He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To the one who conquers I will give some of the hidden manna, and I will give him a white stone, with a new name written on the stone that no one knows except the one who receives it.’

Revelation 21:1 Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and the sea was no more.

Revelation 21:5 – And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.”

Embrace change. Allow God to do a new work in your life.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 5, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
