RSS

I want to live a supernatural life

29 Apr

I want to live a life that can only be expressed by the phrase, “Look what God did!” I echo the sentiment expressed by Francis Chan in his book, The Forgotten God: Reversing our tragic neglect of the Holy Spirit (pages 142-143).

I don’t want my life to be explainable without the Holy Spirit. I want people to look at my life and know I couldn’t be doing this by my own power. I want to live in such a way that I am desperate for Him to come through. That if He doesn’t come through, I am screwed. (I probably shouldn’t write that word here, but it’s how I truly feel about this.)

There was a time when I got excited over a crowd showing up to hear me preach, but those days are long gone. Now I deeply desire that the Spirit of God would do things that I know are not of me and that cannot be faked or accounted for by human reason.

I don’t believe God wants me (or any of His children) to live in a way that makes sense from the world’s perspective, a way I know I can “manage.” I believe He is calling me–and all of us–to depend on Him for living in a way that cannot be mimicked or forged. He wants us to walk in step with His Spirit rather than depend solely on the raw talent and knowledge He’s given us.

Amen!

While that is my desire, unfortunately and far too often, I settle for the comfortable, easy, and familiar ways of doing things rather than take the risk of stepping out in faith and walking in the Spirit.

May God help him to long for him and depend on him alone. May God grant me the sensitivity to see where/what the Spirit is doing and to get in step.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
