RSS

An Answer to Fault-Finders

06 May

As I was going through a file on “Criticism,” I came across a quote by a former colleague. Pastor Owen Hollingsworth was one of the most godly men I’ve had the privilege of serving with. He once distributed a statement to our staff entitled, “An Answer to Fault-Finders.”

“It doesn’t take genius to find faults and failures in me. I know more of my faults than anyone else ever will. There are only two who know more of my faults than I, God and Satan. God is in the business of forgiving me, encouraging me, and helping me grow spiritually. Satan is in the business of pointing out my faults, magnifying my weaknesses and inabilities, and condemning me. Whose side are you on?

It doesn’t take genius to discover my faults, but it does take spiritual maturity to see God’s grace and glory in one as human as I. I am what I am by God’s grace alone.”

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 6, 2016 in Criticism, Quotes

 

Leave a Reply

 
