RSS

A book I could put down

11 May

There will be starsBook Review: There Will Be Stars, by Billy Coffey

Some books are page turners. They grab you by the throat, whet your appetite, and keep you in your seat until the very last page. Others are yawners. They are well written with sparkling prose, but not that interesting. There Will Be Stars fell into the latter category for me. I found myself not caring how it turned out.

The story is set in Mattingly, VA, where all of the author’s books are set. The main character is the town drunk, Bobby Barnes. On one of his nightly rides through the mountains, he goes around a sharp curve, sees blinding headlights, hears metal on metal and his sons’ screams. His last thought is—There will be stars.

However, he wakes up the next morning and relives the day all over again. He discovers six other people facing the same predicament. He is informed that he is now in The Turn, sort of a halfway point between heaven and hell. It sounds more like purgatory, a place of secrets and hidden dangers.

Though published by Thomas Nelson, a Christian publisher, I did not find any distinctive Christian content in the book. Then again, I did not finish it. I did not find the characters interesting enough to make me want to see how it ended.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 11, 2016 in Books

 

Leave a Reply

 
