RSS

At the End of Your Rope?

30 Aug

NOTE: I asked Robin Dolbow, the Director of Children’s Ministry at First Central Bible Church in Chicopee, MA, if she would be interested in reviewing the book, With All Due Respect-40 Days to a More Fulfilling Relationship with your Teens and Tweens by Nina Roesner and Debbie Hitchcock. As the mother of two preteens, I thought she might find it helpful. Here are her thoughts.

**********

With all due respectBook Review: With All Due Respect-40 Days to a More Fulfilling Relationship with your Teens and Tweens by Nina Roesner and Debbie Hitchcock

When my children were small I felt that I had the whole mom-thing under control. While I wouldn’t say it was easy, I definitely found life with littles very manageable.  Then before I knew it we were celebrating our oldest child’s 9th birthday and we had entered the “tween” years.  Things quickly went from manageable to “someone please stop the ride”.   Conversations became harder, moods became moodier, and we needed answers.

I found some of those answers in the book With All Due Respect.   In this book Nina Roesner, author of The Respect Dare, and Debbie Hitchcock help mothers navigate some of the more difficult situations that may arise during the tween and teen years.  The book is set up like a devotional meant to be read over 40 days.  Each day includes a scripture verse, a story that covers an aspect of parenting tweens/teens, reflection questions, and a prayer.

Roesner and Hitchcock cover a wide range of topics including helping your child find their identity in Christ, guiding them through dating, and countering our culture. I found the topics they covered to be very helpful.  It was an encouragement to me to know that I am not alone in my struggles with raising my tween.

While reading through the book I kept thinking that all the problems in the scenarios given were resolved rather easily so while I would recommend this book to other moms in similar stages of life, I would remind them to take to heart the author’s words: “We don’t promise a lack of conflict, by any means; all relationships will have conflict.”

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2016 in Books, Parenting

 

Leave a Reply

 
