RSS

Is the Holy Spirit active in your life?

19 Nov

alive-in-the-spiritBook Review: Alive in the Spirit: Experiencing the Presence and Power of God, by A. W. Tozer, Compiled and Edited by James L. Snyder

What does a Spirit-filled life look like? What does a Spirit-filled church look and act like? How do you balance biblical instruction and personal experience regarding the role of the Holy Spirit? These are the questions asked and answered in A. W. Tozer’s book, Alive in the Spirit: Experiencing the Presence and Power of God.

The book contains material previously unpublished. Dr. James L. Snyder combed through numerous sermons by Tozer to compile the material. He tried to capture Tozer’s conversational tone as well as his passion for the church, the body of Christ.

Tozer’s conviction was that the church had largely ignored the Holy Spirit.

I believe we need to bring the Holy Spirit of God back into the church, back by prayer, obedience, and confession, until He literally takes over. Then there will be life and light and power and victory and joy and fruit in our lives. We can live on a different level altogether, a level we never before dreamed possible.

Every church has an obligation to regularly examine itself to see if what it is doing is on the solid foundation of the Holy Spirit. The tendency is to drift, as the Scriptures often warn us. I need to be careful that my life is solid on that foundation. If I am not building my life and ministry on the foundation of the Holy Spirit, I will not be pleasing and glorifying to God.

Throughout the book, Tozer addresses both personal as well as corporate aspects of the Spirit’s ministry. He describes what a personal walk with the Spirit looks like as well as how a church should function when the Spirit is at work.

Tozer places a high priority on what Scripture says on the subject before factoring in personal experience with the Holy Spirit.

I want to pursue this Holy Spirit every day of my life. I want my walk to be in complete harmony with the Holy Spirit. This has been the challenge of my life and will be until the day I graduate from this life into the next. Then I will pursue Him even more and with better equipment.

Throughout this book, I have tried to be as careful as I can to back everything up with the Word of God. If you find anything in this book that does not square with the Word of God, you have the obligation to throw it out. Nothing we say about the Holy Spirit should in any way contradict the Word of God.

Reading Tozer’s thoughts on the Holy Spirit and the state of the church, you have to remind yourself that he died in 1963. His evaluation and perspective is still very accurate today.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Bethany House through the Bethany House Blogger Review Program http://bakerpublishinggroup.com/bethanyhouse/bookreviewers. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2016 in A. W. Tozer, Books, Holy Spirit, Quotes, Scripture

 

Leave a Reply

 
