RSS

On Target

08 Jun

A world renowned archer had a sterling reputation for hitting the target every time. On the eve of a major competition, a young boy stumbled upon his practice session. Rather than aim at a target, he let the arrow fly and then painted the target around wherever it embedded itself. A bullseye every time!

Rather than aiming at nothing and hitting it every time, I want to live with a sense of intentionality. I want my life to count for something and to make a difference. This is the meaning of the name of the blog, “On Target.”

On Target began as a newsletter while I was the Pastor of Christian Education at the College Church in Wheaton, IL (1986-89). About once a month, I wrote to those who served in the Christian Education ministries. Sometimes it was a devotional thought, sometimes an idea for teaching and learning, and sometimes an upcoming training event. When I became an Associate Pastor at Crossroads Bible Church in Bellevue, WA, I continued to write On Target for our Christian Education team and missionaries.

Life became busier when I became a Senior Pastor in 2004 and I stopped writing for a period of time. However, there were things God laid on my heart to communicate. My wife suggested I try writing a blog. In April 2008, On Target joined the blogosphere on the World Wide Web. This past week, On Target took on another form as the weekly radio program of First Central Bible Church. On Target can be heard on Sunday mornings from 6-7AM on RealOldies1250.

Like my life, the blog version of On Target is intentionally eclectic. Sometimes I write a devotional thought. At other times, I share cartoons or humor. On occasion, I review books I have read. Periodically I post photos of places my wife and I visit. Occasionally, I write about my family and their adventures. Once a week, I post a synopsis of the sermons I preach.

The idea of living an on target life is significant for two reasons. One is that we all naturally miss the target God desires us to aim at. Romans 3:23 explains, “for all have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God.” To sin means to miss the mark, to fall short of the goal of God’s standard of perfection. Fortunately, God provides a solution. Romans 6:23 states, “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” We simply need to acknowledge that we are sinners and ask God to forgive our sins, come into our lives, and make us part of his family.

The second reason for living an on target life is that it gives us a sense of purpose. The apostle Paul expressed this idea in Philippians 3:12–14.

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

I want my life to be On Target. I want to accomplish something and make a difference. Through new life in Christ, I can hit the target that God has laid out for me. In so doing, I will bring glory to God.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2017 in Personal growth, Scripture

 

Leave a Reply

 
